Contents - Index - Previous - Next


Open/Save a Scene 

 

Use the toolbar Document to create/open/save scene documents. 

 

 

Create a new blank scene

 

To create a new blank scene, use the button "New Doc" of the toolbar Document, or open the File menu and click on "New" item.

 

       

 

The newly created scene automatically gets a default name Scene1, 2, 3, etc. Later, when you will save the scene in a document (in a file with extension ".sa1"), you can change its name to a more consistent one.

 

Open a document with a stored scene, add multiple views

 

To open a document with a stored scene, use the button "Open Doc" of the toolbar Document, or open the File menu and click on "Open..." item.

 

The standard Windows dialog "Open" will appear. Find a directory with your files, click on a desired file with the extension ".sa1", and click on the dialog button "Open".

 

       

 

A new window with 3D view of opened scene will appear. The file name appears in the title bar of the 3D view window.

 

   

 

You can add more views of the active scene. First, make sure that the desired scene is active. To make a scene active, click on its 3D view window. The title bar of the active scene becomes highlighted. Then, open the Window menu, and click on the "New Window" item.    

 

To see all 3D view windows, resize main window, then open the Window menu, and click on the "Cascade" or "Tile" item.

 

The number of a view appears after a colon in the title bar of the 3D view window (see the screen shot below). 

 

Save an active scene in a document

 

To save an active scene, use the "Save Doc" button of the toolbar Document, or open the File menu and click on the "Save" or "Save As..." item.

 

 

The "Save" command saves the current state of the scene in a correspondent file with the same name.

 

The "Save As..." command calls standard Windows dialog "Save As" that allows you to save a scene in a file with another name.

 

If you started with a blank scene like Scene1, which is yet not saved in a file, both the commands will call the "Save As" dialog.

 

 

When you close the last 3D view of any edited scene, you will be prompted to save your work. However, if you have deleted all the objects, and the scene is empty, the prompt will not appear.